API

Hi
I’m a developer investigating making Blast searches available programmatically, and came across your project, which is great, with the Docker image it was super-easy to get started in minutes.

I’ve got few disparate comments and queries

• Compared to version 1, version 2 runs much slower on my ubuntu 18 laptop running SequenceServer on Docker 19.0.3. I installed a small database (S pombe cDNA library, about 9Mb) and in version 1 searches were instantaneous. In version 2.0 beta, the same query takes 20- 30 seconds to complete (this happens in both the web page and using curl. If there are any log files or similar you could point me to I could submit would be happy to send them.) The initial response with the job URL in the location header is quick, but subsequent call to get the job is slow.

• If I query curl http://localhost:4567/jobid.json, the response is in JSON but the response header says the content is text/html; this could confuse some clients:
    Content-Type: text/html;charset=utf-8

• I’m discovering the API by trial and error by inspecting the traffic from the web page, I would be happy to submit a PR with a document with some snippets for invoking through a client like curl if that would be helpful if it doesn’t exist already.

• Is it possible to get a list of running jobs? For example to be able to throttle requests to the server depending on number of running jobs. Also i read somewhere that you have to restart the application after updating the Blast databases, it would be good to wait till there are 0 jobs before doing that but on a server used by many people I’m not sure how you would know that.
    Thanks for your time and apologies if these are known or non-issues
    Richard

Hi Richard,

Thanks for your message.